As I write this there's some of the neighborhood kids playing Marco Polo outside...on land...which I suppose makes more sense than the version most of us probably grew up playing in the pool. I mean he traveled mostly by land over to China and back right? Am I thinking of someone else? I'm pretty sure I'm right. In any case, all I can say is that I hear one kid saying 'Marco' and then a few responding 'Polo' and there's no pool down there. If there's a kid walking or running around with his eyes closed should I go do something? Maybe just watch cuz it'll be hilarious if he runs into a tree or something...or that was totally mean and I meant something else entirely. Wait, what about the fish out of water rule...they're already out of water...sometimes I miss being a kid. I bet you they figured out some boundary that they consider where the water ends and where land begins or something. Oooo, or an invisible force field or something. Does anyone else read Calvin and Hobbes? Remember when they'd play Calvinball and the rules were super ridiculous, there were a million of them and they both knew them by heart? Haha, good times. Now they're playing with worms, and there making a family. They're constructing a 'family' of worms by pulling worms of different sizes out of the ground and determining their station in the family by the size: biggest is the father, of course: second biggest is the mother and so on down the line. These kids are organized if nothing else.
Anyway, I don't remember if I had something specific to write about when I sat down today...the whole day has seemingly passed by in a bit of a blur. I've been feeling a little weight about a decision I'm going to have to make in the next couple weeks...by a little weight I mean a lot, and it's skewed my day. I think the shit of it all is that I know what I'm going to do and I'm just waiting to do it. It's like knowing you're super not into your girlfriend or boyfriend anymore and you're just waiting for the right time, which doesn't exist, by the way, or you're waiting for a reason. Like maybe they start a fight that's super lame and arbitrary but you can use it to totally go off the deep end and end it all. I'm like super good at the waiting one, I've done that one before. I'm less confrontational. Either way, with all the positive stuff that I've been going on lately, today has been a bit of a downer. However, it's only 6pm, so I can totally turn it around, and of course that's the plan. Get a good meal in, watch Archer maybe, go to band practice; all things that make me happy.
I hate when things drag me down. I think that's one of the things I'd like to change from now until forever...I don't need to let things get me down. There's exceptions of course; death in the family, stuff like that, those things will always happen and when they do, you should let that get inside for a few days. Remember that without dark there's no light. Don't live there though. And to my point, don't let stuff that I can't control anyway, get inside and mess with my head. And if I can control it or I can control my involvement in it, then I need to exercise those muscles. No more dragging my ass because of some external bullshit. There's too much awesome stuff going on right now to get distracted with things that don't make you happy. I went to this show last night that was a shining example of that idea. It was at a venue here in Seattle and there were a few bands and performances and then artists of all shapes and sizes: painters, sculptors, clothing designers, people that make wallets and belts, which might fall under the umbrella of clothing, but whatever. Anyway, the point is that whole room was full of creative energy and it was inspiring. Events like that might not be daily occurrences, but I think with all the information online and among like-minded friends, it should be a feeling you can keep up for days a time. When you're in that place, nothing can touch you. Extra outside stuff melts away and you can focus on what's truly important. I want more of that feeling. I'd like to help create more of that feeling...I'll keep you posted...
No comments:
Post a Comment