Good lord, I should've started writing this earlier...I woke up late and feel like I've been running around all day. Realistically I haven't; I mean, I've done some chores, made some food, finished an art project, started another one, and then I played NBA 2K13. This game should be banned...not from stores or anything, just from my house. Though I dunno, maybe from stores too, then no one will ever talk about it either. I started off not even being interested, being more of a Naughty Dog (Uncharted and Last of Us) fan I didn't have any interest in getting started. As the days passed and I watched my roommate play I decided to at least create a character and mess around a bit. The next thing I know, I'm limiting myself to two games per day because otherwise I'll sit in front of the stupid TV all day and play this game that has absolutely no bearing whatsoever on my life...except maybe that it can put me in either a really good or really bad mood about as fast as having sex or an argument with a girlfriend, respectively of course...though I suppose that could be debated.
I can generally keep myself away for most of the day, but then it becomes this reward I create create for myself for staying away all day. It's like chocolate or pizza. This is stupid, I know it's stupid. The weather in Seattle has been borderline hot for the past couple weeks and I should be doing more outside; like maybe actually playing basketball. The problem is my character is like waaaay better than I am in for reals life. It's discouraging going to the park to play basketball and not being able to pull off a killer crossover or a behind the back pass. All I keep thinking to myself is that part from the Sandlot where Smalls is telling himself 'don't be a goofus, don't be a goofus'. I'm not unathletic, I played baseball for 12 years and I keep myself in shape, it's just that basketball hasn't ever been anything other than a 'just for fun' sport for me. It's definitely isn't a sport I care to watch. All that was before this stupid/awesome game. Now I sort of understand the game and probably wouldn't mind watching a game...but then I'll have to pay attention to which players and teams are good and which ones suck. And I'll probably have to buy a jersey or a hat at least to show that I'm a fan of whatever team. Then I'll have to talk to other fans of the team and talk about the game the night before or the playoffs last year or whatthefuckever else they want to talk about. That means I'll probably have to find a sports bar that I like, which inherently means I'll have to try more than one. What did I get myself into? I didn't even want to play this game in the first place, jeez.
I have to get rid of this game...Naughty Dog, feel free to come out with a new game ANYTIME!
No comments:
Post a Comment