This may be a little disjointed…
Porn star meets mixed martial arts fighter, they date for a
while, get tattoos with each other’s name, support each other in their
individual endeavors and then eventually as it happens in many relationships,
they break up. I don’t know all the details, suffice it to say there were also
snakes, wigs and pit bulls involved. Anyway, it’s the epilogue that made it
into the news and all over the internets.
At some point last week the fighter decided that he wanted
the porn star back in his life and went to confess his love for her. When he
got to her home and found her with another man, he saw red. What follows is a
summarized version of the story from that point; fighter beats up the new guy
and kicks him out of the house. He then focuses his attention on the ex, who
we’ll all remember, he was basically coming to propose to. He beats her bloody,
cuts her hair with a dull knife, tries to rape her, cuts her with the same
knife and while going to the kitchen for whatever reason, perhaps to find a
sharer knife, the porn star escapes out the back door and knocks on neighbors
doors until someone eventually answers and gets her to a hospital.
(this is all super condensed, if you are unfamiliar with the
story here’s a link to get you started http://www.mercurynews.com/entertainment/ci_26323120/adult-film-actress-christy-mack-suffers-viscous-beating)
At this point, she gets to the hospital and receives
attention for her numerous injuries and then tweets out pictures and her
account of what happened. Here’s where the whole things gets to the internet and starts becoming utterly
ridiculous…
People, some cloaked in
the anonymity of their screen names and some proudly posting on their personal
social media outlets, figured out a way to make this her fault. The bitch had
it coming because she was cheating on the guy. You can’t expect him not to
react to that sort of thing, she probably liked it because she’s in porn, etc
etc. I started coming across some of the most closed-minded ignorant shit I’ve
ever heard in my life coming from human beings that exist and walk around and
eat and fuck and probably have kids and jobs alongside other people.
And on top of that, people started figuring out a way to
twist this story into something it’s not. There are bloggers and media persons
attempting to make this story lighter or somehow even humorous by mentioning
titles of the movies that Christy has been in when they’re writing their
articles. This is unreal and unacceptable. This story is NOT light; this is
real, this is heavy, this actually happened. A girl was beat within an inch of her life
and narrowly escaped and you think the fact she was in some dirty movies, that
you’ve probably seen you hypocritical ass, somehow makes her less of a human
being and makes this situation more socially acceptable?
How would this story be any different if the professions of
the two people involved were different? If she worked at Joe’s Crab Shack and
he worked at the Foot Locker in the mall, would this story be more or less
shocking? It’s still a woman being savagely beaten for no reason.
And if we’re going to talk about jobs, only War Machine’s
should even be brought into the mix because it’s somewhat relevant that he’s a
professional fighter who has a particular skill set that most people just
don’t. The fact that he has the skills to effectively and efficiently
immobilize an opponent should be the only thing brought up if we’re going to
talk about their professional lives. Outside of that, Christy is someone’s
daughter; she’s 23 and has the same right to make relationship mistakes most of
us have made without the fear of being beaten to death hanging over her head.
How many of us have given undeserving people second chances?
How many of us have gone against our friends’ advice and continued seeing
someone who everyone else could see was bad news? How many times have most of
us been able to make these mistakes with the only casualty being some DVD’s or
hurt feelings? But somehow she’s more deserving of a beat down because she
dated a fighter…absolutely not! She’s a porn star who dated a fighter, how does
that have anything to do with the thing that happened. It’s conjuring up a back
story, it’s creating intrigue but it’s not addressing the facts, the actual
thing that happened.
Let’s just say for fun that she was cheating on him…let’s
say that she was cheating on him with his best friend…let’s say it was his
brother…let’s say it was his twin brother. In NONE of those scenarios does
beating the shit out of her follow as the accepted response. Should he have
been mad, absolutely; should he have maybe broken a dish or punched a hole in
the wall, maybe; should he have put his hands on her at all; NO! The answer is
always no!
There’s also a smaller part of me that’s sad this happened because
fighters and fight fans already have a tough go of it. A large portion of
people I know and talk to don’t like or understand fighting and something like
this is just going to paint an even darker picture and turn people off to a
sport that is in no way represented by this heinous act. I like mixed martial
arts and I liked watching War Machine fight. It’s terribly unfortunate that he
made the decision he did and I hope he goes away for a long time and I wish
Christy a full and speedy recovery.
This was just on my mind today, hopefully future entries won't be so angry.
No comments:
Post a Comment